

# **URGENT NOTICE**

REF: CL.CONG.001/SH/av 2014-02-14

TO:

ALL EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEMBERS, FULL TIME TRADE UNION REPRESENTATIVES (FTUR'S) AND TRADE UNION REPRESENTATIVES (TUR'S): TRANSNET, PRASA, AUTOPAX, BOMBELA, MEGA EXPRESS AND BOMBARDIER

#### POSTPONEMENT OF CONGRESS 2014 AND EXTENSION OF TERM OF OFFICE

The Executive Council resolved on 30 January 2014, during the Special Executive Council Meeting, that Congress 2014 that was to be held in November 2014 shall be postponed until November 2015.

This decision became necessary as a result of circumstances that had arisen beyond our control, namely;

- The delay in receiving authentic membership figures from Transnet that determine the permitted number of TUR'S that may be elected in a workplace - this has delayed the election process to such an extent that it is impossible to hold the elections of TUR'S within the time-lines as set out in the Constitution. To date the final figures for Transnet Freight Rail has not been resolved;
- 2. There is much misunderstanding and confusion among the Trade Union Representatives (TUR'S) and membership regarding the election process.
- The demarcation process of branches and integration of the former members of both UTATU and SARWHU into merged or new branches has not been clearly understood by the majority of the Members and Representatives.
  - a. Durban is one example of the confusion and misunderstandings.
  - b. In Durban the defunct SARWHU only had one (1) branch; whereas the defunct UTATU had seven (7) branches which were defined by the business units and areas namely Durban Infra, Prasa Durban, Maritime Durban, TRE Durban, TRE Traction Durban, Umbilo and Wentworth.
  - c. To ensure better representation for all our members in the Durban area, it was agreed that the former SARWHU members who are employed in the separate business units or areas were to merge into these seven (7) UTATU SARWHU branches and the defunct SARWHU Durban branch would accordingly no longer exist.
  - d. Voting for TURs and Branch Committee Members should take place within these seven (7) Durban UTATU SARWHU branches and not in the defunct SARWHU Durban branch.

- e. Therefore if the Elections were to continue without this being clearly explained, clarified and applied it could bring about numerous disputes with regards to the Elections.
- 4. Efforts to fast-track the process will cause major challenges for our constituencies for not honouring the Constitution which may result in all elections being declared null and void by the Registrar of Labour.
- 5. It was hoped that the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) could assist with the UTATU SARWHU elections to ensure that free and fair elections take place. However the IEC will not be able to do so as they are involved in the running of the National General Elections.

The Registrar of Labour will be urgently approached to inform him of the situation.

# The way forward

### A. Establishment of Planning Committee

- 1. The Executive Council has appointed a Committee to draw up a policy document that will clearly explain the demarcation of the boundaries of the various UTATU SARWHU branches and how the Election Process will take place in 2015 so that this can be implemented.
- 2. The Committee consists of the two Presidents, the General Secretary, and five (5) Executive Council Members (Rodney Blom, Trevor Wasserfall, Ben Jonker, Luvuyo Mdyogolo and Dan Khumalo).
- 3. This Committee must ensure that the branches are demarcated and that our members are properly informed to ensure that the election process will run efficiently in 2015.

## B. The Election Process in 2014

- 1. At depots/workplaces where elections have <u>not</u> been conducted, the election process must be stopped and then elections will take place during January 2015 and February 2015 term of office extended by one (1) year.
- 2. The current elected TUR'S remain in their elected positions until after the elections are completed in January/February 2015 term of office extended by one (1) year.
- 3. Where elections have already been conducted in accordance with the Constitution, the elected TUR will hold office until the end of December 2018.

#### **Further Information**

In the event of requiring any information or wishing to comment in this regard, kindly contact any of the following:

General Secretary, Steve Harris on 082 566 5516 Deputy General Secretary, Louis Brockett on 082 920 5301 Deputy General Secretary, Eddie de Klerk on 082 567 6638

UTATU SARWHU Greetings,

SA Harris

**GENERAL SECRETARY**